Web Ellis Cup, the Coveted Trophy enters Japan


Webb Ellis Cup is presented to the winner of the Rugby World Cup ever since it was first played in 1987.William Webb Ellis was the inventor of this trophy which is silver gilt and this is the first time that the trophy will be presented in Asian nation, Japan.

Emirates which are also a sponsor for the game, brought the Cup to Japan via a flight from Dubai to Tokyo which was received by Organizing committe CEO Akira Shimazu accompanied by World Rugby Chief Executive Brett Gosper.

In the host country Japan it will go to all the twelve host cities where Rugby matches will be played. This will also include the historic Kyoto and Hiroshima. The trophy will depict a symbol of togetherness for all nations.

The trophy has already travelled across more than 15 countries having its impact on the people and bring awareness. In India it has been to the iconic wonder of the world Taj Mahal and in China. the Great Wall of China to name a few apart from other famous places it has already been to.

Web Ellis Cup is stored at a safe place once it is won and every time the world cup is about to begin, it is shifted to the location of the sport.

Winners of the Rugby World Cup So far :

New Zealand : 3 Times

Australia : 2 Times

Africa : 2 Times

England : 1 Time