All The Teams to get a Grand Welcome at Japan – RWC 2019 World Cup

Zojoji Temple
Zojoji Temple

The much awaited Rugby World Cup is about to start in a month and the preparations are at their peak levels. All the 20 teams participating in RWC 2019 will be overwhelmed with the welcome and gesture for guests that Japan has in its tradition. And if the event is as big as RWC, they will leave no stone unturned. Let’s have a look at what they have in store for the teams :

The welcome ceremonies for different teams will start from 13th Sep and go on till 19th Sep 2019. These ceremonies will take place at different locations at large from northern island of Hokkaido to tropical island of Okinawa and locations include Zojoji Temple in central Tokyo. All the 31 team members will receive a Rugby World Cup 2019 Cap. The entire team including coach & the management will receive Rugby World Cup 2019 participation medal. The medal is designed by Yoshita Minori reflecting Japan’s respect for tradition and spirit of innovation.

Rugby World Cup 2019 Welcome ceremony Schedule Teamwise :

Team/ Date / Venue

Fiji Friday, 13 September Abashiri City, Hokkaido
Ireland Friday, 13 September Chiba City, Chiba Pref.
Argentina Friday, 13 September Fukushima City, Fukushima Pref.
Japan Friday, 13 September Shinjuku Ward, Tokyo
New Zealand Saturday, 14 September Minato Ward, Tokyo
South Africa Saturday, 14 September Urayasu City, Chiba Pref.
Namibia Saturday, 14 September Kamitonda Town, Wakayama Pref.
Russia Saturday, 14 September Saitama City, Saitama Pref.
France Sunday, 15 September Fujiyoshida City, Yamanashi Pref.
Scotland Sunday, 15 September Nagasaki City, Nagasaki Pref.
Italy Sunday, 15 September Sakai City, Osaka Pref.
Samoa Monday, 16 September Yamagata City, Yamagata Pref.
England Monday, 16 September Miyazaki City, Miyazaki Pref.
Wales Monday, 16 September Kitakyushu City, Fukuoka Pref.
Canada Wednesday, 18 September Nagato City, Yamaguchi Pref.
USA Wednesday, 18 September Yomitan Village, Okinawa Pref.
Australia Wednesday, 18 September Ebetsu City, Hokkaido Pref.
Georgia Wednesday, 18 September Nagoya City, Aichi Pref.
Tonga Thursday, 19 September Sapporo City, Hokkaido Pref.
Uruguay Thursday, 19 September Kitakami City, Iwate Pref

Rugby World Cup 2019 Organising Committee CEO Akira Shimazu said: “In Japan we take the welcome and hospitality we afford to our guests very seriously. The word ‘ometenashi’ describes the spirit of hospitality in which all visitors are offered the very best welcome possible. We look forward to welcoming all 20 teams and presenting them with a Rugby World Cup medal symbolizing both our gratitude and welcome. These medals capture the most iconic symbols of Japan – our beloved cherry blossoms and the rising sun atop of Mount Fuji, combining them with the unmistakable image of the Webb Ellis Cup. They signify the bonds of friendship and respect that bind the world of rugby as Japan proudly hosts Asia’s first Rugby World Cup.”

Sir Bill Beaumont, World Rugby Chairman applauded the move by Japan and showed his faith that this will help in building values and strengthen the ties among the nations.