The History of Rugby World Cup

Rugby History
Rugby History

The very interesting game Rugby is all men’s game played for exactly eighty minutes with two fourty minutes halves and a break of ten minutes in between.

Every rugby team consist of 15 players which is further split into two groups known as forwards and backs of which there are 8 forwards (positions include Hooker, Prop, Second Row, Flanker and Number Eight) and 7 backs (positions include Scrum Half, Fly Half, Inside Centre, Outside Centre, Wingers and a Full Back).

Coming onto the pitch, pitch is split up into three sections; one main playing area which must not exceed 100 metres and two dead goal areas which can range from 10 to 20 m. The pitch must then be equal to 70 metres wide. The goal posts are in an ‘H’ shape and are roughly 5 to 6 meters apart with no restrictions on height.

There is a set of accessories to be worn which are studded boots can be worn along with gum shields, head guards, shoulder pads and shin pads. Each team has to wear the same coloured jerseys with matching shorts and socks.

Rugby is considered among the top ten sports in the world that are having the highest no of enthusiastic viewers and scoring system is based on points system wherein a team can win or draw based on the points scored.

Rules of the Game

A total of 15 players participate in the game and up to 7 substitutes Players are only allowed to return if they have been treated for an injury who leave the game. The field must be 100 metres long and 70 metres wide with a minimum of a 10 metre dead ball area. The H shaped goal needs to be 6 metres wide with no restrictions on height.

The field consist of the following markings; half way line, 5 metre line, 22 metre line, 10 metre line and dead ball line. Also included is a centre spot for restarting the game after a try, penalty or drop goal has been scored. The game must have one referee and two touch judges. It’s the referee’s job to time keep, make decisions throughout the game and keep order on the field.

The two touch judges can assist the referee with decisions and also notify the referee when players are in touch (out of playing boundaries). The game will stop if a player is fouled, the ball goes out of play or a try or drop goal is scored.

The defending team must tackle a player by grabbing a hold and pulling them to the floor. A tackle cannot be made above shoulder height and doing so will cause the referee to award a foul. Once the ball goes into touch a line out is called. Up to 7 players can enter a line out and any of these players can be lifted in order to catch the ball being thrown in.

Both teams can compete to win the ball. A successful conversion, penalty or kick at goal only occurs when the player manages to kick the ball through the top section of the goal. If a player is unsuccessful the ball is still in play until it crosses one of the playing fields boundaries.

Attacking players must remain behind the ball whilst active or run the risk of being called offside. Players not interfering with play can be in front of ball but must get back behind the ball before then again interfering with play.

The History of the Sport – Rugby World Cup

The first World Cup of Rugby was played in the year 1987 which was hosted jointly by Australia and Newzealand. Though the game has been played since 18th century and favourite among nations, the first of its kind rugby tournament was played in 1883 which was called Home nations Championship which was initially played between four countries and gradually expanded to six which later was called Six Nations Cup. Rugby World Cup was a idea since long but denied many times and finally implemented after the delegates from participating nation voted in the favour of World Cup with a few voting against.

In the first Rugby World Cup in 1983, sixteen nations participated. New Zealand was the first country to get the World Cup Rugby defeated France. In the last Rugby world Cup, New Zealand agains won the championship by defeating its archrival Australia and thus is the only country with Three titles of Rugby World Cup. The trophy that is awarded to winner is known as Web Ellis Cup after the William Webb Ellis.

The country that has won most titles is New Zealand with the first in 1987 and last two World Cups in 2011 and 2015. Australia and South Africa have both won the title twice while England has been able to made to the coveted Web Ellis Cup only once in the year 2003 so far in the Rugby World Cup history.